Pediatric Research Day

Published On 10/12/2015

Le Bonheur Children's Hospital
March 28, 2018

Download the Abstract Book

Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital will host its 10th annual Pediatric Research Day on Wednesday, March 28 2018, from 8 4 p.m., in the Chesney Auditorium and Faculty Office Building Auditorium.

The goal of this meeting is to bring together researchers and clinicians from Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital, the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, the Children’s Foundation Research Institute and other institutions, to facilitate discussions on the latest research findings, medical advances, and scientific innovations. The overarching theme of the tenth Pediatric Research Day is Neuroscience. The James C. Hunt Keynote Address will be given by Dr. Gregory Holmes, Chair of Neurological Sciences at the University of Vermont. In addition, attendees will have the opportunity to hear presentations on current research and network with investigators working in a wide range of scientific and medical fields.

Key Dates

Registration Opens Nov. 1, 2017
Abstract Submission Opens Nov. 1, 2017
Abstract Submission Closes Jan. 12, 2018 at 5 p.m.
Abstract Withdrawal Deadline Feb. 2, 2018
Registration Closes March 21, 2018 at 5 p.m.

Scientific Program

Wednesday, March 28 - 7:45 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Chesney Auditorium, Children’s Foundation Research Institute

7:45 - 8:00 a.m. Breakfast
8:00 - 8:10 a.m.

Jonathan McCullers, M.D.
Dunavant Professor and Chair, Department of Pediatrics, UTHSC;
Pediatrician-in-Chief, Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital
Meri Armour, President and CEO, Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital

8:10 - 8:15 a.m.

Opening Remarks from the Organizer
Amali Samarasinghe, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Division of Pulmonology

8:15 – 9:15 a.m.

Keynote Address: James C. Hunt Visiting Distinguished Professorship
Epilepsy and Autism: Coincidence or Consequence
Gregory Holmes, M.D.
Chair, Department of Neurological Sciences, University of Vermont, Burlington.

9:15 – 9:30 a.m. Coffee served in the atrium of the Faculty Office Building

Auditorium, Faculty Office Building

Session 1:

Session Chairs:
Joan Chesney, MD [Director, Office of Pediatric Clinical Fellows]
Elisha McCoy, MD [Director, Pediatric QI]

9:30 – 9:40 a.m. Introduction by Session Chairs
9:40 – 10:10 a.m.

Early Onset Childhood Epilepsy: Utilizing Modern Genetics to Improve Diagnosis and Treatment Outcome
James Wheless, M.D.
Professor and Chief, Pediatric Neurology. Le Bonheur Children’s Hospital and UTHSC

10:10 – 10:20 a.m.

Progressive Reduction in Right Ventricular Contractility in an Aging Mouse Model of Arrhythmogenic Cardiomyopathy
Emmanuel Camors, Ph.D.
Department of Pediatrics, Outstanding Abstract Award: Junior Faculty

10:20 – 10:30 a.m.

Improving Documentation of Menstrual History in Patients at risk for PCOS, with QI in an Academic Pediatric Continuity Clinic
Sarah Carey Robinson, M.D.
Department of Pediatrics, Outstanding Abstract Award: Clinical Resident

10:30 – 10:45 a.m. Coffee Break
10:45 – 11:15 a.m. The Biorepository and Integrative Genomics (BIG) Initiative
Robert Rooney, Ph.D.
Director of Integrative Genomics Biorepository,
Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics, UTHSC
11:15 – 11:25 a.m.

Systems Genetics Analysis of Arrhythmogenic Cardiomyopathy Induced by p.S368L Mutation in Transmembrane Protein 43
Undral Munkhsaikhan, Ph.D.
Department of Pediatrics,
Outstanding Abstract Award: Postdoctoral Fellow

11:25 – 1:20 p.m. POSTER SESSION and Lunch
CFRI Ground and Lobby Levels
Presenters must be available at posters from 12:00 - 1:00 p.m.

Session Two:

Session Chairs: Jon McCullers, MD [Chair of Pediatrics] and James Wheless, MD [Chief of Neurology]

1:20 – 1:30 p.m. Introduction by Session Chairs
1:30 – 2:00 p.m. Pharmacogenomics of Glucocorticoid Resistance in Acute Leukemia and Chronic Kidney Disease
William Evans, Pharm. D.
Chair of Pharmacogenomics,
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital
2:00 – 2:10 p.m. MicroRNAs as Novel Biomarkers in Pediatric Severe Sepsis
Madhura Hallman, M.D.
Department of Pediatrics,
Outstanding Abstract Award: Clinical Fellow
2:10 – 2:20 p.m. TMS Localization of Eloquent Cortices in Patient with Rasmussen Encephalitis. A Case Report.
Luke Embury
Department of Pediatrics,
Outstanding Abstract Award: Research Staff
2:20 – 2:30 p.m. BioLegend and You: A Neuroscience Story
John Rutigliano, PhD.
Technical Application Scientist II Team Leader, BioLegend, Inc.
2:30 – 2:45 p.m. Coffee Break (Kindly Sponsored by BioLegend. Inc.)
2:45 – 3:15 p.m. Diagnostic and Neuromodulatory Applications of Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation: Coming of “Age” of a Non-invasive Brain Stimulation Modality
Shalini Narayana, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Division of Pediatric Neurology,
Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology, UTHSC
3:15 – 3:25 p.m. 17,20S(OH)2pD Suppresses Total Collagen Synthesis in the Bleomycin Model of Fibrosis Imara-Safi Olu Scott BioLegend – Graduate Student Research Award

Session Three:

3:25 – 4:00 p.m.

Award Ceremony and Closing Remarks
Dennis Black, MD. Scientific Director, CFRI
Ajay Talati, MD. Division Chief, Neonatology

  • Outstanding Abstract Awards from the Department of Pediatrics:
    • Junior Faculty: Emmanuel Camors
    • Clinical Fellow: Madhura Hallman
    • Postdoctoral Fellow: Undral Munkhsaikhan
    • Clinical Resident: Sarah Carey Robinson
    • Research Staff: Luke Embury
  • BioLegend, Graduate Student Research Award: Imara-Safi Olu Scott
  • Outstanding Poster Awards from the Department of Pediatrics:
    • Faculty
    • Clinical Fellow
    • Postdoctoral Fellow
    • Clinical Resident
    • Research Staff
    • Graduate Student
  • Outstanding Poster Awards from the College of Medicine: 
    • Three Medical Students

11th Pediatric Research Day: 27th March, 2019